This Article was originally published on this site

Uber has decided to remove a controversial feature that allowed the company to track the location of users even when they weren’t using the ride-hailing app.

Uber Chief Security Officer Joe Sullivan confirmed the change to Reuters, ahead of a planned announcement on Tuesday. The update will initially roll out to iPhone users later this week, though Sullivan tells Reuters that the company will introduce an update for Android users, as well.

An app update introduced last year prompted users to allow Uber to track their location even when not using the application, or to not share their location at all. Previously, users had the option of sharing their location only when using the app.

Continue reading…